Today? paper terrain!

Before you even start reading, I should probably clarify that in northern Ontario a ‘shag’ is a pre-wedding social event, like a ‘buck and doe’, or a ‘social’.

image

I worked a close tonight, so I got home with a bit of time, but not enough to have anyone over for games. My wife was out at a friend’s shag, so I was home with H (who was well asleep by the time I got home from work). Seemed like a good night to try out some papercraft terrain I downloaded recently. I’m really pretty pleased with how it turned out… it doesn’t really jive 100% with 40k, but its science fictiony and the right scale, and most of all the price was right. The download was a free sample on rpgnow.com and I managed to get somebody to print it out at work for me, so total cost was a few sheets of cardstock.

image

Admittedly there are bits of weirdness going on. I should have inked some interior surfaces, and some bits are a little crooked looking, but I also didn’t really read through the instructions and used old white glue I found in a drawer. Once its dried I may be able to  end and twist some crooked parts, and I’ll see what I can accomplish with some aftermarket sharpie edges. I have high hopes.

image

Mostly, though, I’m intrigued by the paper terrain, and interested in seeing what else this particular designer has available for sale. Just in case there’s something that *does* look 40k-ish at a decent price. I’ve gotta say, the free sample is simple, but it did its job… I’m intrigued.

2 comments

  1. Azazel

    I’m glad you clarified what a “shag” is out your way. If you hadn’t, the start of this post would have read *very* differently…

    Is that the Dave Graffam papercraft stuff? It’s looking pretty good, but the thin walls stand out a lot to me. I bought a bunch of it awhile back, though I plan to mount most of it on foam core. The multi-texturing of them give you a fair bit of leeway for 40k terrain, as long as you don’t require every structure in the galaxy to have skulls, flying buttresses and archways. I haven’t gotten too far with them, but here’s the start of one of the fantasy warehouses being built as a modern/40k-friendly warehouse building:
    http://azazelx.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/zavod-311-post-2-theorycrafting-and-the-building-begins/

    • rexlogan

      While I do have some Dave Graffam buildings, this isn’t one of them. This was a freebie from some other company (I did several random free models before buying any), and was also among the first I tried; it doesn’t really see any play. If I were building it now, I would definitely be mounting on foamcore…

Leave a Reply

