Holy cats! I’m painting rats!

After a lengthy painting hiatus, I actually sat down and painted something tonight. I misplaced my parchment and didn’t feel like heading downstairs to get more (I think I’ve mentioned it in the past, but my workdesk is on the third floor), so no wet palette. I only had a little bit of time anyway, so I just did a bit of work on one model – the old school globadier that was in that mess of old metal models that got me started on skaven in the first place. I figured if I just worked on a single model then my paint wouldn’t have time to go super tacky on me.

image

Just brown and red on in this one

I went with the same red I use for the Unyielding, and then used black to darken up an olive green for the mask and collar. Metal highlights are in what is probably a gold, but which I hope will look brassy once I’ve added a dark wash down the line.

image

Note the rather fitting bottle of root beer my folks brought back from Minnesota the other day.

I really need some new paints. I’ve got two browns and a couple grays, but they’re all pretty similar and they’re not especially good. Most of what I have came in an Apple brand super pack that I picked up on clearance. You know the kind; about thirty colors in those little plastic tubs. It looks like I’m using a paint by numbers set when I’m working.

image

The mini on the left is from my copy of hybrid; I’m thinking I’ll use it as a rat ogre.

Anyhoo, time for mad sleeps. Gotta be up at 4. Feels good to be painting again.

2 comments

  1. cappuccinogaming

    Oh he looks like he’s coming along great!!
    And I totally know what you mean about needing more paints. It always seems that no matter how many paints I buy – I’m missing all the colours for my next project hahaha. Can’t wait to see him finished 😀

Leave a Reply

