Overwhelmed!

Warhammer fantasy the last couple of Sundays. Last week first. I took a unit of about 6 rat ogres, Queek Headtaker and a unit of his elite stormvermin, a warlock engineer, clanrats, a warp lightning cannon, and my newest addition, a hell pit abomination. It was me and a high elf unit vs goblins and vampire counts. My skaven were primarily up against the goblins.
My setup was terrible, and I locked my abomination behind my own ratling gun,  preventing him from accomplishing anything during the first turn. I forgot marching was a thing, too, so I didn’t a advance very far on the first turn. My rat ogres spent the first couple turns getting shot to pieces and then hit by goblin fanatics; they actually accomplished very little. There were however some high points. I did have a doomrocket land almost perfectly on a unit of goblin spider riders (if they’re called that) hitting 19 and killing 17. And while the rat ogres (and then abomination) were getting shot to pieces, Queek’s stormvermin type through the bulk of the goblin army. The abomination did eventually make itself useful, tearing apart some night goblins in the third or fourth turn.

image

This past Sunday’s game was a little bit rougher. Our scenario required rolling a die for each unit; 1’s would come in via reserves. I had 10 units, not counting my gutter runners (who would start as reserves anyways) and managed to roll five 1’s. So I started with Ikit Claw, 5 globadiers with a mortar, a baseline engineer with a doomrocket, 3 jezzails, and a hell pit abomination on the field. My teammate (the same goblins I fought last time) and I wrongly assumed that our reserves couldn’t come in until the second turn, so that short list is what I would use for my first turn, against a sizable force of chaos warriors.
Ikit didn’t last long – 5 globadiers is hardly an effective bunker – but he did everything he could during his 1 turn. He skitterleapt the engineer to the end of the chaos line to unleash the doomrocket, warp lightninged, storm daemoned, and unleashed his warp fire projector on the charging chaos unit. The warlock put a huge hole in the chaos line with the doomrocket and then just quietly existed for the rest of the game, while the mortar did some solid damage and then brought down on chaos’ first turn (along with the globadiers and Ikit). The jezzails performed pretty decently, benefiting from the close diagonal deployment; they were at half range for pretty much every shot. They were charged by Khorne after a few turns.
The early loss of Ikit Claw was rough on the skaven; even when the rest of the army showed up, they started failing leadership rolls almost immediately. The second globadier unit and one clanrat unit died within a turn, and the death globe warlock got himself killed with a bad throw. The warp lightning cannon performed okay, though, with 2 marvelous shots at strength 8 and 10 respectively. Unfortunately the chimera saved versus the 8 and the 10 dissipated, but it still managed to take out the fleeing remains of a chaos unit, including a nurgle wizard, with the same shot that the chimera saved against.
image
Flee, chaos, flee!

The abomination was the star of the show again, eating, crushing, and slaughtering left and right for the duration of the game. Admittedly, it also got pretty lucky, as both the chaos unit that charged it and the vargulf that flanked it later whiffed pretty hard on their initial attacks, giving it a bit of a break where its initiative is concerned.
Overall, about as bad a game as I’m really likely to get. In addition to all the 1’s at the beginning, I also misfired several times. There was the warp lightning cannon shot that dissipated, a mortar that wildly missed into a unit of goblin spider riders, the death globe, a warpfire thrower that exploded into a clanrat unit, and some other minor disasters, all in the space of about 3-4 turns. And for all that, an absolute blast. I’m finding skaven ridiculously entertaining.

Leave a Reply

