40k – Stormraven!

I’m back! And even more impressive, I’m back in the world of Warhammer 40k, where I haven’t been for quite a while. My regular group was getting fairly bored/frustrated with the state of the game by the end of sixth edition – I’ve only played one game of 7th since its release – but we’re starting to feel ready to dip back in. Certainly not on a tournament level or anything (There’s way too much ridiculous going on at the moment, and I don’t think any of us can be bothered to keep up), but on a goofy homebrewed scenario level I think it’s just about time we all got reacquainted. So that’s our plan. To reintroduce our own flavour via scenarios, similar to when we developed the Cruenta Campaign.
Now, that’s all just plans… the actual act/event that has prompted a 40k blog entry is my newly acquired Stormraven Gunship! I’ve wanted one of these for ages, but it’s been pretty hard to sell myself on one, cost-wise. Last week I managed to snag one, still in the shrink, for $50cdn, which seems about as good a deal as I’m ever going to get on a brand new one (and I’ve so seldom bought new warhammer that assembly has been a whole extra treat so far.

image

I normally paint the interior of a 40k vehicle by opening the assault ramp and just spraying some primer in there. This time I went all out, did some masking, and actually primed the interior separately.

image

I even made some minimal effort to paint a couple details in there!

image

image

I also decided to have a little fun with this one, and added some bloody boot prints. Still a ways to go, but it’s nice to feel excited about some aspect of 40k again!

image

image

image

In case anybody is wondering, that’s a Krylon flat black; looks very very grey in the photos.

Leave a Reply

