Infinity – Flamestrike

Got in a few Infinity games over the past couple weeks, and it felt good. This past Sunday saw me face off against a friend’s Haqqislam army twice. The first game mostly went well for me until the end.

image

Between my Tank Hunter and my HMG Spetznaz (mostly the Hunter), most of Haqq’s impetuous phase involved bikers getting shot off the board. I had a couple big angles covered and had good luck with my rolls; probably less than half the smoke worked out for my opponent. The high movement of the bikers worked in my favour here, as my lines of fire weren’t overwhelming so much as the bikes advanced right into those lines.

image

My first turn went into picking off the non-bikers. The Tank Hunter took out a distant missile launcher (down the long alley in the first image), and then the HMG Spetznaz worked his way around the buildings and across a catwalk to take care of the rest.
In the end it all came down to a couple of dice rolls in a single order. His last biker came up against my Tank Hunter and my Minuteman in a suicide charge and nobody made enough armour saves. I went from a little over 100pts to a little under 50, which put us in the same annihilation bracket, and he had his Secure HVT objective complete already, so he won 5 to 3. A very fun, and very fast-paced game.
We played Quadrant Control next, but that was a bit of a mess.

image

I missed almost every roll, and often by only 1. I couldn’t hit anybody, and failed pretty much all my Armour saves. Tactically I felt good about my playing, but luck-wise I got hammered. Still fun to be out playing Infinity, though, and I assembled the Minuteman just for the occasion (I wanted those twin flamethrowers in case I was battling Tohaa again).

I also got in some Frostgrave this weekend, but I’m hoping to give that its own post.

Leave a Reply

